Caterpillar 'Horns'

I've read about the Black Swallowtail Caterpillar's 'Horns', and this morning I got a firsthand look and photos of them. They aren't true 'horns', but an organ located behind the head that, when extended, looks very much like a snake's forked tongue. It's called the osmeterium (osmertia, plural) and 'sprouts' when the caterpillar feels threatened. These 'horns' also give off a foul odor to hopefully repel predators. Although I can't say that I smelled anything unusual. Check the *extra...for more photos.  Mother is so cool!

Our Sweet Girl dog Tara is having surgery on her 'other' back leg and knee. She had TPLO surgery in early June. She has torn her second cruciate and has a luxating patella (trick knee), both of which are hopefully being corrected. She is under the knife as I type this so I'm a bit stressed. If I don't visit your journals and make comments, that's my excuse. 
P/S...Just got a call from the Surgeon. Tara is coming out of anesthesia and doing well! She'll hopefully be able to come home tomorrow! We are so very fortunate to have the U.F. Vet School here in Gainesville! They are amazing! (also fortunate to have Pet Insurance on board!!!) m

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.