An unfortunate change

Since rain was forecast for tomorrow, Gena, Terri and I decided to get together today.  It rained early in the morning but by the time I headed north the rain had stopped.  But the temperature stayed at 63 degrees of damp and we sat huddled in heavy sweaters as we got together.  I even put on my winter hat.  Terri had a turtleneck and another pullover, a fleece and a windbreaker, as well as a hat.  They are outdoorsy women so they're always prepared.  We talked for two hours, catching up, and ate turkey sandwiches and apples they had brought from home.  It was wonderful to see them again.  I've known them for twenty one years, as we've aged and changed and retired.  Gena is 86 now and feeling it, Terri 62 and in poor health, yet they still go hiking and mountain climbing although they tire easily.  We are thinking of new places we can meet in the future as long as the pandemic lasts.  I hope we can do that soon.

This is a photo I took on my way home, in Edmonds looking down a steep hill to the Sound with Whidbey Island behind and the Olympics behind that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.