The road back home is a long one.

After last Sunday's London spectacular, today it was the turn of the more prosaic Manchester version.

These poor souls (blipped outside Timperley Methodist), who were aiming to finish in about 4 hours 50, looked like they were suffering for their medal.

The local youth brass band was playing the theme from Rocky and The Dream Warriors 'My Definition' in a loop to try and encourage them, but I couldn't tell whether it was even registering.

I admire, and get quite emotional, when I see people battling the physical and mental limitations that most of us know better than to challenge. I'd like to think that I had a marathon in me, but realistically I suspect it might only ever be the type with peanuts in it! Still, registration for next year's London event opens on the 29th, so who knows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.