What a scare!!!!

After work, I decided to take the boys to the lake for a swim as it has been very hot. 

Xmas is crazy when it comes to water and to toys, so going to the lake and play in the water can be rather intense. I know this so I am very careful, but not careful enough today. 

I was throwing a rubber toy for the Collies and Xmas jumped more than 1 meter directly up in the air to try to grab the toy. I hit him as I swung the toy and he fell down (again more than a meter) and stood completely still staring out in the air growling quietly as to say "do not touch me". 

I picked him up and hugged him until I could feel his body be less tense. Then I rang his breeder, who is also a vet.

She could see us 45 mins later. I was afraid I had hit him in the head and caused a concussion or worse. He was clearly uncomfortable. 

It looks like we have been very lucky. I did not hit his head. I hit his stomach and he has taken a decent hit, but it does not look as if he is injured. A few bruises and he should be OK again in 3 - 5 days. 

He got painkillers for 5 days to make him more comfortable, but he has eaten ok and is trying to play with Tango, so I think he's recovering well.

OMG what a scare!!! My poor little man. I wonder if he will be more careful and not jump as much after this....

See you tomorrow 
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.