Baby Lame

Today has been truly Mediterranean: cobalt blue skies and warmth from first light. I am delighted with the weather even though I am not really equipped for heat. My DNA is more suited to cooler climes, but I am not complaining. It has been a great summer for this part of the world and reminds me of the summer of 1976.

The throng of tourists must be amazed that they can be out about in T shirts and shorts and still swelter. The ice cream vans are doing a roaring trade.

I had occasion to venture into the centre of town this afternoon for a private hearing test because the NHS audiology dept is running about 9months behind time for their 3 year reassessment. It was an offer I picked up on via the internet with no hard sell, which was just as well as the hearing aids I was given to try out cost over £5000. I beat a retreat.

To get to the appointment I went by bus so that I could observe the flood of humanity flowing  through the streets from the comfort of a seat away from it all .
I can’t remember ever seeing Edinburgh so packed with people or maybe I’ve forgotten how terrible it all is when the Festival is on.

On the way home I encountered this drag artiste in George Square. He has provided  my only photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.