Wednesday

My near neighbour died this morning. She fell and broke her leg a few months ago. After a long spell in hospital, she was able to come home with a care package 2 weeks ago.

We noticed 3 carers twice a day. Katie, her youngest, with whom she lives, told me Mum was bed bound. 10 days ago she stopped eating and soon slipped into a coma. 

Her 5 children were with as she died. Gill, her eldest sobbed in my arms this morning.  Soon after, a private ambulance arrived to take away the body. 

I had a little cry. She was an auxiliary when I had my babies. Always brought me a hot chocolate during the night feeds. A lovely memory. 

There was a lot of laughter coming from their garden later. All the children gathered.

Another very hot day. Too hot.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.