Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Back-lit

When the pandemic hit in March 2020 and people of a certain age were confined to barracks, the situation was made more bearable by the wonderful weather that seemed to go on for months and months.

Things haven't been so good this year, apart from the 'heatwave' last month and now another hot spell this week. Still, today was only the second or third time I've sat outside in the sun this year. The state of the garden is the main reason. God be with the days two years ago when I weeded and weeded and weeded and had things looking really good. My blocked-artery situation makes things working in the garden difficult these days, so things got away from me last year and I had to get gardeners in a few months ago to cut back old growth and do some much-needed weeding.

Unfortunately, they turned out to be a shower of chancers: more garden assassins than anything else. I had to run out and stop them using power saws to cut back old growth rather than do it by hand, but I was too late to stop them mistaking plants and creepers for weeds and ripping them out by mistake. I'm wary now about getting anybody else in, so things are in a bit of a mess.

Still, some of the stuff has fought back and is sprouting new growth, including these sedums which looked rather nice against the evening sun. The forecast is good for the rest of the week (it was 30º earlier today in my neck of the woods and elsewhere in the city recorded a high of 33.1º).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.