... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Edinburgh Castle HDR

This is an attacker's-eye-view; more looming in large ("L").

I've had another fine day in Edinburgh; the weather forecast was ominous, but I managed to keep dry for the most part, and even had some wonderfully bright spells (as in the picture above). My favourite weather moment was walking across the meadows in the very warm sunlight, being soaked by the rain, and chilled by the frigid wind. Scottish weather is weird...

I wandered into town alone today: I wanted to have an amble and also to revisit the National Museum of Scotland (NMS). I spent hours in there and found it quite brilliant: not only is the building interesting of itself, but the collections are varied, extensive, and very well exhibited. The new extension houses the Scottish history collection; I decided to start there, but in the end found myself staying there until I was too worn out to continue... It is housed over six floors in the National Museum (the new wing of the museum), and I didn't even see the whole of the basement floor ("Beginnings" and "Early People"). It was fascinating: full of amazing items and information.
I realised that I know almost nothing about Scottish history, so bought myself a little introductory book on the subject, before pottering off to Brew Lab for a restorative coffee.

I took photos of the castle both before visiting the museum (including the HDR image above), and also from the 7th Floor roof terrace of the NHS which offers wonderful views of the city, albeit slightly hampered by the wide boundaries of the terrace itself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.