Dancing and good news

This morning I went to my art group in Oswestry then had a sandwich at F's as I was belly dancing in the afternoon.

We had been asked to perform at a retirement complex in the town. We danced for them then our leader gave a short talk about the dance form then asked if anyone would like to have a go.  This lady did and she even had a belt that her daughter had brought back from Turkey.  I have disguised her face as I didn't ask her if she wanted to be displayed on the internet.

Our bowling group have been very worried as we'd heard that our green in the park was going to be replaced with a children's splash park.  We had discussed what to do about it, perhaps a petition? There is no other place in town that has a turn up and play facility without being in a league.

As I was going back through the park (still in dancing attire) I spotted our new Lib Dem MP, the mayor and some of the councillors talking to the park supervisor.  "Here's my chance" I thought and hung around a little while to get chance to speak to them.

After the last local elections the Green Party ended up with 12 of the 18 seats on the town council and also a Green Party mayor, all good news for the environment. 

I heard someone mention splash park which was my chance to butt in and voice our concerns.  The mayor said that it was going in the children's playground and that they would never get rid of the bowling green.  He said that he'd resign if it ever happened.  Apparently it was a rumour spread by their opposition on the council.  They must have been learning from those in government!

There are a lot of happy bowlers in Oswestry tonight as three groups use the facilities as well as individuals.

I

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.