CameraColin

By MrColinWilson

Getting Dorky with a Zorki

"What's a Zorki?" asked Soozy looking up from her laptop
"An old Russian rangefinder camera I think" I replied "Why?"
"There's one for sale on gumtree"...."What's a rangefinder?"

Since Soozy found out that some old cameras are worth a lot of money she has taken to checking local ads and charity shops for Leicas (chance would be a fine thing)
Anyway, disturbed that the person I intend to spend the rest of my life with didn't know what a ragefinder was I stopped what I was doing to investigate further.
Turns out it was going for a tenner and the seller was a five minute drive away.

A couple of emails later we were sitting in their living room looking at a lovely clean example complete with leather case and original manual.
Ten minutes later it was ours and loaded with film.
Soozy is terrified of it!
It is fully mechanical and has no light meter so we have to get an esposure reading using a digital camera or use the sunny 16 rule!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.