Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Granddaughter

Just a wonderful day with her today. She arrived to stay with me yesterday evening and we stayed up late watching this … (I would highly recommend this film, it’s wonderful)

https://youtu.be/UD-3fwjzEFs

A late morning swim - main blip - lots of chatting and then a Full Irish Breakfast up beyond in The Martello. She is a native Irish speaker, attending secondary school in Co. Galway . Her core subjects are Irish, English, French, history, Science and Maths. Plus chosen extra subjects: woodwork, music and art (we have always been an arty family so I am very pleased about these extras). She is taught exclusively through Irish.


Then back to Dublin to pick up my friend Margaret and then up to Powerscourt In Enniskerry for a walk around the grounds see extra and a tasty, tasty lunch in their restaurant

In Dublin you can be at the sea or in the mountains in 30 minutes - it’s unique in that regard

My GD sings beautifully and plays the guitar (she graduated from the ukulele which she learned In primary school ). She sang and played ‘Fast Car’ by Tracy Chapman to Margaret and me. I always liked that song


We are home now and nicely tired. She travels to Tipperary tomorrow but we plan to watch The Railway Children tonight. Here is a sweet photo of her from some time ago but look at the height of her now. She is towering over her nana.

https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2490516808105200055

I love being a grandmother- it’s a really special role. I am strict about manners and politeness. It’s the way I was brought up. I love my grandchildren dearly

We have both had a lovely day in warm weather in Ireland

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.