Flossmo

By Flossmo

Farnham in Bloom

It was very warm at eight o'clock this morning and by mid afternoon the temperature was up at 33C. Much too hot for me.

We spent a couple of hours this morning debating the bathroom refit. It was time very well spent in the cool of the house. This afternoon I finished my notes from the workshops in Wrexham and then I had a sort out of my fabric drawers. Even that small amount of activity left me sweating. I was looking for a piece of fabric to make a draught excluder for the front door. It's hard to believe that in the not so distant future we will be trying to keep the heat IN! I have a piece of fabric sorted, now I just need the opportunity to get my sewing machine out.

This evening we drove down the hill to Farnham to take some photographs of the Farnham in Bloom flower displays (the town likes to pride itself on the quality of its floral arrangements). Spot the fake flowers. It was still very warm and even a circuit of the shopping area left us perspiring gently.

We came home and watered the tomatoes and other pots with a watering can and water from the butt. A hose seems too profligate now even if it isn't banned. Truly I can't wait for Monday or Tuesday when we should have much lower temperatures and, finger-crossed, rain. Dare we hope?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.