Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Walkies with my sons

Since I'm not contagious anymore I dared to visit my sons again and thus my Benjamin and I went to see his brother. Here my boys walk on the Ginkel Heath, the field where the Allied Forces dropped 35.000 soldiers with parachutes on September 17th 1944 in order to fight Montgommery's battle of Market Garden; the hopes of then didn't materialize and the siege of Berlin took longer than hoped for.

Around this heatherfield are woods and there in the shade we walked most of the time ~  we spotted one deer who's alarmed by us and ran off from the small pool of water where it drank and we'd spotted a hare that was surprised by us too and ran off a bit bewildered...  nice to see these animals; my camera was in my bag, so no flash shot of them :-( 

When back home I learned from the appalling attack on Salman Rushdie... performed by a 24 years old knife puller

What's the young man's motive for trying to kill this writer?! Didn't he know that Rushdie's Fatwa from Khomeiny was ended in 1998 by the Iranian regime and that there's no longer that § 3 million reward to be gotten?! 
Hopefully Salman Rushdie will recover from the wounds of this butchering attack on his life

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.