My new pets

A few days ago (8 to be precise) I had 3 tiny caterpillars on my nasturtium, eating very hungrily.  This  And I concluded I had to put up with them  welcome them, as they would soon be butterflies, which we love and want to encourage. 
Now they are moving along with their lives, one is now a big, much darker caterpillar, having stopped eating and climbed a couple of feet up the wall directly above the now largely disappeared nasturtium. Another is a bit further to the right, but about the same height, and has now developed into a chrysalis.  This happened very fast, I watched it changing. The third one has decided to go higher, about 25 feet higher, and is sheltering under the coping stones on the roof. All of them have a good chance of staying alive - there won’t be any birds visiting this part of the wall, I hope, as it’s too close to my back door. And they are in the shade for almost all the day, just about an hour of sun in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.