This is the day

By wrencottage

One day more ...

I can’t get the song from Les Misérables out of my head. I have been thinking all day today that we have just one more day of this heatwave to go before the temperatures start to drop. (That is, if the meteorologists have got it right, which I sincerely hope they have.) I know I shouldn’t be wishing time away, and lots of people love the heat, but I’m definitely not one of them! 

I took this photo of the stone chippings at the base of our new bird bath because they sum up how my garden is looking at the moment – exceptionally dry. And in extras there’s a magpie checking out the bird bath, although he didn’t actually have a splash, and a shot of the sun shining through the leaves of the maple tree outside my husband’s study, which are just starting to change colour. He has always enjoyed looking at that tree when he’s sitting at his desk, and now he has the added attraction of the bird bath behind it, so he’s extra happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.