Dusty Poppies

Although the days have been so hot, I have been pleased that it's been possible to sleep comfortably overnight. That doesn't escape the fact that the gardens are dust and cinder. The flowers are struggling to look bright.

Basil and I took Len to tennis this morning then drove to Open Church with a bag of empty jam jars. I'm not sure but I think this might have been my first visit since returning from Iceland.

Only Jean and Wendy there with Colin. The heat is putting people off.

The former vicar was also there. She had resigned in June. The others told me that she was not supposed to enter the church again.

Went round to Colin's afterwards to write a birthday card for him to give to his friend Graham. My writing is atrocious but Colin says his is worse.

Spent the afternoon on the patio, reading. Bit of a breeze, not quite enough to be comfortable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.