La vida de Annie

By Annie

El final de las vacaciones.

The week has gone by much too quickly, and we didn't do half of what I had planned for them. It was much too hot really, but at least they enjoyed what they did do. As the flight wasn't until the evening, the day was spent messing in the pool, deflating the inflatables by repeatedly jumping on them, and posing for me in a number of places around the garden. #1GS has enjoyed feeding the garden tortoises, discovering they like watermelon, and watching the tiny gekkos race into safe cracks in the walls as he approached. We were planning a last meal out before they left, but after driving round the many tourist bars in the locality, found that none would serve food until 6:30 or later, and that was the time we'd have to leave for the airport. No time for special cooking, but they seemed to enjoy my grilled cheeseburgers, and took some sandwiches with them also.
Very sad to see them go, especially as I last saw them in 2019, and amazing to see how much the young lad has grown in that time. It brought to mind this song, which brought tears to my eyes.



Is this the little girl I carried
Is this the little boy at play?

I don't remember growing older
When did they?

When did she get to be a beauty
When did he grow to be so tall?

Wasn't it yesterday when they were small?
Sunrise, sunset
Sunrise, sunset
Swiftly flow the days
Seedlings turn overnight to sunflowers
Blossoming even as we gaze

Sunrise, sunset
Sunrise, sunset
Swiftly fly the years
One season following another
Laiden with happiness and tears

What words of wisdom can I give them
How can I help to ease their way?

Now they must learn from one another
Day by day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.