Family Ghost

By PhilDockerill

Can't let maggie go ...

Had a really lazy day, didn't go to the office, sat around watching catch-up tv until lunchtime, did begger all all afternoon apart from clean the car and break the vacuum cleaner - but that's another story.

This is the pottery basket from beneath a wooden balloon which has been hanging in the corner of my dining room for a number of years. Is that an odd thing to have?

Actually I don't think I've ever looked at it this closely - cruddy innit? It came home with us from a family holiday to the Isle of Wight. I'm pretty sure from the craft village at Arreton Manor. You would have had the whole balloon but I found it impossible to deal with the shaddows cast on the wallpaper.

It reminded my of the honeybus song. It was used as the soundtrack for a Nimble (kind of plastic slimming bread) commercial, probably some time in the 1970s. The girl in the ad was being swept away in a balloon.

I wouldn't bother with large, it's even uglier!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.