Seumas' Fossil Tree

What an amazing day.  Left the house at 7.45am and not back till after 8pm.  It is probably the hardest walk I’ve ever done and I started with tired legs so was seriously concerned whether I’d be able to do it.  This tea + cake event was at the less well known fossil tree at Burg, Seumas’ favourite tree.  He is a geologist amongst other talents and had so much information to share.  The day started with thick mist but within minutes of walking it cleared revealing the stunning landscape in this part of Mull.  The long walk started on a pretty rough car track and this then became a path sometimes levels and sometimes steeply up or down, and at times involved clambering over rocks.  At some point I realised I’d dropped my mobile phone, reckoned it was when I stopped for a discreet wee in a patch of bracken.  Tried not to let it worry me, thinking it’d still be there on the way back.

Arrived at Seumas’ tree which can only be seen at low tide, and climbed down to it.  What I love about his choice of tree is not just how spectacular it is but the fact it isn't actually a tree, it is a space left by a tree (the molten lava surrounded the original tree which then burned away). Boots and socks came off for much needed rock pool foot bathing.  Climbed back up again and had some lunch, and of course, cake.  Then the consensus was to continue on to the better known fossil tree which Seumas said wasn’t that much further on (I’ve learned we don’t shared the same definition of not much further!).  But it was well worth doing and even the slightly daunting metal ladder that you have to descend was manageable.  It is an incredible thing to see, was really pleased to have had the opportunity.  Then it was time to start all those miles back.  Just getting to the top of the ladder section I realised it was not going to be a walk in the park.  I was actually a bit worried I wouldn’t have it in me to get back, felt very woozy and heavy legged, that’s a first.  It was very hot for Mull too, water from my bottle was actually hot to drink.  I was the slowest but I managed it, and we found my phone.

Some people wanted to swim, I was a bit torn about how late it was and I had no way of contacting M even when I had my phone back as no reception.  But got nearer to Gribun beach and was still so hot I joined them, it was wonderful to get in the cool sea.  Almost managed to leave my glasses on the beach, found them and headed back to the car where I bumped into some of my guests who were out cycling.  Quick chat and then drove home.

What a special day.  I’m so glad I went and big thanks to Seumas, and to Alice who started this project.

And perhaps I’ve I learned a couple of tips - to maybe not take over 3 and a half kilos of camera kit on such a long trek, and to get some better boots (my big toes are looking a bit interesting).

More information about the tree and the walk can be found here and here.  And have included extras from the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.