This appointment has been in my calendar for a wee while - an opportunity to speak with an oncologist about my recent scans. The risk of the cancer returning is highest in the two years after surgery. Normally I don’t have anxiety about these things (or scanxiety as waiting for scan results is called) but it got to me a bit today.

Thankfully there was nothing to worry about. My scans are clear and my blood results are good and dandy. I asked the doctor about cutting down on salt/ a renal diet and was assured that my lone remaining kidney (good ol’ Lefty) is healthier than some people with two kidneys. Thank you Lefty!

Before I went to the hospital, I googled it and found out that St Barts was founded in 1123 and is the oldest continuously used hospital on its original site in the country. (I don’t know if that’s in England or the UK, but it’s a heck of a long time either way.) Next year it turns 900 years old. It’s fascinating to me as a former historian and because I’ve only been treated in the newest bit with proper 21st century medicine.

Thank you Barts and bless the dear NHS.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.