Tandem

I rested against the rusting iron fence and watched the surfers, who were mostly waiting for something to change in the flat quiet ocean. Lots of floating and chatting. And then there were these two--so enthusiastic carrying their board down the stairs and into the water, paddling out together to join the crew. It surprised me, because this is big boy water, not a place for casual giggling fun and sharing a board. I actually wondered if the surfers who were bobbing along so companionably would tell the girls to take their single board and go away. But no. They stayed, trying in vain to stand up at the same time and ride the little waves that finally came.  They certainly had a great time in the water. They did seem like they knew what they were doing, but then again, I'm not sure. 

My son tells me that tandem surfing is indeed a thing, and so I looked it up and was amazed. Google: Tandem Surfing Images--a collection of intricate balancing acts that would be hard enough on solid ground. Who knew?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.