paperTIGER

By papertiger

Reunion.

We leave something of ourselves behind when we leave a place, we stay there, even though we go away. And there are things in us that we can find again only by going back there.

-- Pascal Mercier, Night Train to Lisbon


This summer it will be 10 years since I graduated from the University of Glasgow in Theatre Studies and English Literature. 10 years!?!?!! I can't believe it has been that long, it genuinely feels much less.

So today I went to meet five of my best friends from uni just around the corner from the Theatre building where I studied for 5 years, but actually worked for nearly 7. However, there was a major car accident on the way which closed a whole section of the motorway, turning a 1.5 hour journey in to a painful drive lasting nearly 4 hours. Needless to say, I was VERY late. Then the waitress spilt cream all down my coat, I thought she might cry so I was nice to her. When she thanked me for being so fine about it, I thought she might cry again and she started to tell me about how her day had just kept going wrong and she didn't understand why {I know the feeling}. Then when I left, I kept ending up on the wrong roads which just diverted me back in to Glasgow. It was very confusing.

What an epically traumatic journey!

I was out of the house for 8 hours, and I only got to spend maybe 2 hours with my lovely friends, probably less. But it was still worth the very long drive, so very worth it. And I got to meet baby Heidi, who is my friend Jodie's little girl. She is 7 months old. She has masses of bonkers hair and a stare that could pierce any heart. Plus she is totally rocking her rainbow booties, yes? I think she looks like Rainbow Brite! What a wee gem!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.