Orange Balsam

I went for a very early morning walk along the canal from Lower Frankton this morning.  It was much cooler than the heat of the past few days and rain/thunderstorms have been forecast.

I was there early, there were no boats on the move and I only saw one other person on the towpath.There were very few birds around and only a couple of butterflies but I was pleased to see Orange Balsam for my blip.

I only know of one other place around here where it grows, also by a canal.  It's not a native but was introduced from America which is never ideal but luckily it's not invasive like Himalayan Balsam as it's an annual .

It's not found in the very north of England, Scotland or most of Wales so not a usual find.  It's other names include Jewelweed, Lady's Earrings and Touch me not.

When I was on my way back to the car there was a shower of rain and there is the unusual sight of raindrops on the leaves in my photo!  There were a couple more showers this afternoon, we need much more than that but at least it's a start.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.