Rosemarie55

By Rosemarie55

Mary McMurtrie

17°C  -  6 mph ENE Wind Speed  11 mph Gusts  -  Rain.  Raining all day so spent most of time doing more sorting out of books, photographs and paintings.  I decided not to hang Mary McMurtrie’s Poppies watercolour but to place it on a top shelf  - I think it shows it off more effectively than if it were hanging.  I have blipped it before when I had it hanging in a wall.  Mary McMurtrie (1902 – 2003) was a well-known Scottish artist who was still painting at the age of 101 years.  This watercolour was presented to me when I retired from supervising clinical psychologists at Cornhill Hospital, Aberdeen, so has a special place in my heart  -  it was painted when Mary was 93.  She has a special place in the history of women because when attending Grays School of Art at Robert Gordon University in Aberdeen and coming first when graduating, she was not allowed to win the visit to Italy prize  -  that went to the boy who came second  -  girls not deemed to benefit from a trip to Italy!!  She might’ve benefited from Italian cookery lessons though methinks☺☺

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.