The Allure Of Horror

On This Day In History
1956: Bela Lugosi dies

Quote Of The Day
"It is women who love horror. Gloat over it. Feed on it. Are nourished by it. Shudder and cling and cry-out and come back for more."
(Bela Lugosi)

A portrait I drew of the Aristocrat of Blood.

This interesting article on the Blood Knife website suggests that Bela Lugosi was correct, particularly among the female LGBT audience. That surprised me; I thought horror would attract a mainly male audience.

Bela Lugosi's Dead

Remember when Peter Murphy broke the sound barrier to become the coolest man on T.V.? I'm currently reading The Count Of Monte Cristo and the Peter Murphy of the Maxell commercial is how I picture the Count. If it were in charge of casting a modern day screen adaptation, I would cast Robert Pattinson in the role; his recent portrayal of Batman/Bruce Wayne - as well as his performance in Twilight - proved he has the charismatic, vampiric qualities which are essential to the role. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.