Jack James

By JackJames

Working kitchen this evening, and then duty tonight, so I had the middle of the day off. In brilliant sunshine, I left work after lunch, set up some music on the outside speakers, made myself a lovely coffee, got my laptop and went to sit on the bench outside. There are some roofers making repairs to the house's chimneys, and the guys didn't want me sitting too close to any falling bricks, so I went to sit on the bench further down the garden.

As soon as I'd set my coffee on the table, I sat, and the whole table gave way under me in spectacular fashion. Rotten to the core, and untouched for the whole winter, so passed unnoticed. Much to the amusement of the roofers.

I took a walk into the village to get some milk and maybe read my book in the park, but almost as soon as I'd crossed the footbridge into town the rain started, and didn't stop. Back in time to change before work, which was slow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.