The Speed of Light

By MartyMcG

up in the clouds

Today was a long, tough day. It started off at 12:30am when I drove up to Braemar (The Linn of Dee to be precise) and slept in the boot of my car. No, I've not annoyed the Mafia - I wanted to get a quick start on my walk into the Souther Cairngorsms in the morning and didn't fancy pitching my tent at the roadside at 3am.

Set off at 7am form the car park and headed up Glen Lui towards Derry Lodge. Then up onto the ridge to the East of Glen Derry and bagged the summits of Beinn Bhreac and Beinn a'Chaorainn. Took this pano shot looking across Glen Derry towards Derry Carngorm and Beinn Mheadhoin. The hills are still holding a load of snow up here - a beautiful spot and fairly remote for a single day's walk. I was completely done in by the time I reached my car after a 31KM / 9 hour round trip.



Copyright © 2013 Martin McGougan. All rights reserved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.