A cry for help

I rang the emergency services at 3am, and asked for help, I was in agony, I didn't know if it was a reaction to the spinal injection last week or something that would have happened anyway, but it became intolerable.

I haven't rang for an ambulance for myself ever before and I was sure two strapping paramedics would come to the rescue and give me a jab of morphine or do something for me, but no one came. I was told that a Duty Dr would call me on the phone within 6 hours. It was 8 hours later when that Dr was finally able to make that call. She advised me to ring my own GP, and ask for Oramorph so that I could take some to see me through another intolerable episode should it happen again. 

The surgeon last Friday, thinks a small rod and screws to stabilise the lumbar back, would most likely be of the most beneficial to me, but it is a major operation. He's going to discuss it with his Radiographer team and get back to me with their expert opinion as well. 

If that's what it's going to take well I might just have to take it because where this has me at the moment isn't a good place. 

My bed has been my friend :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.