Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Opening of the Pollokshields Gurdwara, Glasgow

Delighted to receive an invitation to the opening of the Pollokshields Gurdwara. I followed a very colourful Sikh procession as the community moved their scriptures from the old building in Nithsdale Road to the new Gurdwara in Albert Drive.

This image shows the beginning of the ceremony when the flag was raised. The flag pole was lowered, washed in water and milk, and dried. A golden silk cloth was fed onto the whole length of the pole, tied on and the flag positioned at the top. Lots of drumming, praying, chanting as it was raised. Seemingly the cloth is replaced each year.

I am very glad I went along. Everyone was so welcoming. I met several members of the camera club who gave me advice on shots and angles. I also met Blipper Martin Shields from The Herald, who kindly introduced me to some of the press pack. He even encouraged me to move in and get my shots.

Everyone had to cover their heads and remove their shoes before entering the building. I was interested to note that even the Police officers obeyed instructions, and posed barefooted for photographs.

F

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.