hollyyoung

By hollyyoung

RAIN

I hiked around the side of Lake Tarleton and it started to rain.  I would normally have been all "grumble-grumble" but...it has been so dry, I just started snapping photos of the plants soaking it in.  It was so dark on the trail, I had to use a flash.  
Top left is Hobblebush starting to change color.  Clockwise Cucumber Root fruiting, Whorled Wood Aster, Teaberry, and one stinky mushroom.  I haven't ID-ed it yet...what a stench!
I also kayaked the lake before hiking.  There was an adult eagle and one juvenile.  The juvenile was putting up a terrible fuss, wanting the adult to feed it.  But that time has passed and the adult flew over the young-un just to reinforce the "get it yourself" policy, before heading to the other end of the lake.  The loons and crows on the lake were going berserk, with warning calls.  It was my kind of lake music.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.