On a high

I have often been into the building where I'm now working. It's shared very creatively by a vibrant arts organisation and Crisis, my employer, which works with homeless and vulnerably housed people. I've been to events and meetings here both when I was working with another homeless organisation in Oxford and when I was working with refugees, many of whom are also vulnerably housed. And I've been to loads of theatre and exhibitions here. I thought I knew the building well but now that I have a key fob and can explore the corridors and stairs and rooms beyond public view I discover that it's many times bigger on the inside that it is on the outside. During my health and safety briefing and walkaround on Monday the Facilities Manager gave me floorplans and told me to keep walking round the warren until I'd learnt all the passageways that might be usable in case of a fire.

Crisis is also my best employer ever. One other, out of the 14 I've had during my 'portfolio' career, has had coherent and humane policies and practices for treating staff well but Crisis wins hands down because of the important work it is doing. Far too often charities think that because they are doing worthwhile work they don't need to look after their staff and volunteers. As the part-time administrator I am in the lowliest role I have had since my student summer agency jobs (not counted in my roll call of employers) but I will be hugely proud to make sure that the infrastructure my colleagues need is in place for their front-line work. So far I'm in learning mode but I've already spotted two things I can improve and have been briefed about one other piece of work I'll soon be involved in.

I had to sign up to the organisation's values and key policies before my employment was confirmed and now that I am in post I have 10½ hours of compulsory training to do in the next eight weeks. That's generous, given that I'm working 17½ hours a week. There is then a mass of optional training that I can access free in work time.

On day one I was given a brand new laptop. Today, day two, I was given a brand new smartphone. That's getting on for £1,000 worth of equipment they have trusted me with. Well, good. Why recruit someone you don't trust?

They still know nothing whatsoever about my qualifications. As a professional educator, with a passion for education, I absolutely love that abilities and values trump certificates. My feet may be a long way below my head at the moment but I feel I have landed on them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.