Desperately seeking

By clickychick

What A Joy!

I worked as hard as I've worked in a long time today! The day was dry so we set off to the lodge in B-I-L's campervan so that we had facilities at hand to spend the whole day there.

We have wanted to create a wildflower meadow for a few years now but we haven't achieved it yet. Our No Mow May lasted until August and it wasn't looking good before we strimmed and mowed it today.

I jumped with excitement as something moved in the undergrowth. I was shouting to The Man but he had ear defenders on and wondered why I was jumping about, waving my arms. When I moved the grass to see what it was it was the largest frog I have ever seen! We both got a few shots and then I ran about trying to catch it and put it into a safe, shaded place.

We got on with our mowing and raking then I spotted another frog. A smaller, yellow one. I went through the same fiasco of caching it and moving it.

In the afternoon I was in the campervan making refreshments when I heard The Man shouting of me to bring my camera. In the same metre square, he found a huge toad! They jump so fast and far! It was also put in the sheltered place away from the mower and the hot sun.

What a wonderful day. We got a lot of work done and gathered 14 black sacks of grass. Along the way we also saw several fox moth hairy caterpillars and some grasshoppers. Haven't seen grasshoppers for years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.