Experimenting

This radio has two independent receivers that can be linked to different antennas.  There are a few different applications for this.  One is allowing you to choose an antenna based on which is receiving a better signal.  Another is to listen to different frequencies simultaneously when working split frequency.  You can even configure different receive and transmit antennas - some antenna types are great for receive but terrible for transmit.  I plan on experimenting with some of these, but for today I've just thrown up an end fed random wire in the garden and have that on one input and my normal fan dipole on the other.  I'm just tinkering with configuring the radio for this sort of thing.  You can synchronise some things between the two receivers (e.g. frequency) but other settings are individual for each one so you can configure them differently.  I'm keen to get used to the radio before I start properly experimenting with antennas!  Currently I'm listening to a conversation between a German and Italian station, with one receiver in my left ear and the other in the right!

Conditions on the bands are pretty poor just now, so I'll leave the the end fed up for the next few days and hope I find a few minutes for some more experimentation.  Now, where are the designs for that ground loop I wanted to try...

Time for a rest now though - it's been a busy day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.