cate1

By cate1

Arles - home of Van Gogh, for a time

I don't know how it happened, but yesterdays picture was also on the page, so I have deleted it, but I can't delete the comments that were made.
I just had to take a shot of us in the rain - felt just like home, but much warmer. Our first port of call after leaving Marseille.  The first activity of the day was a painting class in a studio near to the where the boat was moored.  Since our daughter J is very artistic - and I am not, I had to sign up for it.  I was so glad I did.  There were only six of us in the class and the other five were artists already, four of them for pleasure and one commercial artist.  I felt a bit out of my depth to begin with, but everyone was really nice and the class was full of laughter. The lesson was really about producing different colours from the three base colous of blue, red and yellow.  The studio artist was very knowledgeable about Van Gogh and presented his talk in an entertaining manner. We then got to choose a Van Gogh to copy - well a part of any of his pictures that we liked.  I found the colour mixing, to match the original, very stressful, but there was a lot of laughter in the studio and we had great fun.  One of the nice things about the class was that we got to make friends in the small group on the first day of the cruise and that lasted all week .  I will leave showing my masterpiece for another day, after I have it framed :-)) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.