The Old Hydro

I have shot this scene several times. Like my old truck of a few days previous, I have always found something on the days in question which I liked better. Today however, it was the number one pick.

The Hydro Majestic Hotel at Medlow Bath in the Blue Mountains was (in its Edwardian heyday) pretty much the closest thing the local area had to a grand hotel resort. Those days are long gone though. Today it stands fallow, waiting to eventually fall down I suppose. There is presently a half hearted attempt going on to use it as a hotelier's school, but take my word for it, its glory times are in the past. Here we view it from the east. Were we to pan a little to the left we would see the beautiful Megalong Valley, views of which were the old hotel's principal attraction for many years.

Thing is, modern roads and transport are too good. Too many Australians vacation overseas. There are far too many diversions competing for the would be visitors' dollar. Few Sydneysiders - always the mainstay of Blue Mountains tourism - seek extended accommodation here anymore. The old hotels and their quaint old ways lie forgotten.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.