Spike Milligoon And His Part In My Upbringing

No one has ever been able to take me to the height of joy and the depth of sadness quite like Spike Milligan. His eyes seem to smile and to cry simultaneously. His voice also suggests that at any moment he might burst into laughter or break down in tears. Whenever I have seen him interviewed he has had me in tears of both laughter and sorrow. Surely a troubled soul, but a very human and compassionate one at that. Remarkably candid - he probably upset quite a few people with his often frank remarks, I imagine - and admirable for his very public battle with bipolar disorder.

Yes, I said I was going to try and steer clear of celebrity portraits for a while, but to me Spike Milligan is far more than that. Whenever I'm feeling down, a quick dose of this goon on youtube is sure to raise me up.

The Chichester diocese would not allow Spike Milligan to have his requested epitaph displayed on his gravestone at St. Thomas' Church. Instead of, "I told you I was ill," it reads, "Duirt me leat go raibh me breoite," (the same in Irish.) I wonder if whatever authority rules where I am laid to rest will allow me to follow his example and take a line from Spike's classic Pakistani Daleks sketch, "Put him in the curry!"

If not, then at least play The Ying Tong Song at my funeral.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.