A bit over the top!

Spent most of the day inside as it was dull and drizzly. I continued going through my slides from Nepal in 1990, trying to make a list - I had previously numbered them. That brought back memories!

A friend came this afternoon to stay for a few days; he didn't seem to mind that I'd organised Oban Mountain Rescue to abseil down the bank of Jacob's Ladder to collect rubbish. I had hoped for a few KOB volunteers to give me a hand taking down the rubbish bags to stack behind the rubbish bin at the bottom, but nobody turned up. It was a good thing that a journalist from the Press and Journal came along as the Oban Times didn't appear. 

Ten members of the Mountain Rescue arrived with all their abseiling gear and several of them went over the top and collected seven or eight bags of rubbish. I think a good time was had by all and several passers-by did a double take when they say all these roped and helmeted folk!

We'll make as much publicity as possible from this in the probably vain hope that it will make a difference!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.