Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Jelly on the plate.....

Thirsty today and my day for ticking off my list, 6 things I think, so that was good.
1. Taking back the baskets I ordered for Cursillo as they were too big and getting something both smaller and cheaper.
2. Buying a new cat scratching post, Pickle is very hard on them but our furniture is intact.
3. Taking up a pair of trousers. Regular length my foot!
4. Writing a report for the UK AGM.
5. Making a new support pole for the banner I will have to carry in London. I needed to make something which I could split into two parts so that it would fit into my suitcase.

6 is the subject of my blip, I finally got around to making some blackcurrant jelly.
My trusty kit has been accumulated over some years. Missing is the jelly stand which I bought from Lakeland about 6 years ago, it is red plastic and looks very flimsy and I can't believe how good it is. From time to time though, for nostalgia's sake I go back to my Heath Robinson set up which involves two stools, a muslin, a brush and a mop and a lot of faith, lol. That one also needs to be kept away from the cats. The new one does too but it's much more compact so that's easier.
The tala jelly pan (I have brass ones too, but this is my favourite) was one of the last gifts from our old friend Breeks, of Groucho fame. He christened me Queen of the jam makers and presented it to me about 6 months before he died. It's just over three years since he died, I'd known him since I was about 15 and we were all still at school. He was always a larger than life character but a very good friend. He did the disco for our wedding in 1975 and played our wedding dance at 45 instead of 33....it was on an LP borrowed from my parents. Ah well, at least it was over quickly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.