THE MILL ON THE FLOSS

Well OK Farfield Milll in Sedbergh on the Clough River, but it doesnt sound the same does it!!??  Farfield has a very interesting history too.

A couple of blip friends have recently visited Farfield which reminded me that I hadn't visited in a long time (must be several years).  So I decided I woudl go today, as it should only take about 40 minutes to get there!!!

I had a frustrating morning in getting to the Mill.  First up as I drove down onto Kents Bank Road, near the Fire Station there was fairly heavt traffic and a delay.  It turned out that a new telegraph pole was being installed.  Then as I drove through Grange, behind, a cyclists, caravan, slowest moving car in the world etc I came across more traffic lights as OpenReach are doing some work there.  Took ages to get onto the A590 (well it felt like ages), simply becase I got caught, yet again, behind slow moving traffic.  I went to fill up with petrol on the A590 but couldn't even get onto the forecourt as all pumps were in use and the queues for them were right to the edge of the traffic.  No matter I thought there is a petrol station in Sedbergh!!

The traffic was heavy, on the A590 and A591 and backed up at Brettagh Holt roundabout - I have no idea who, just holiday traffic I'm guessing.

I eventually got to Sedbergh, behind yet more very slow moving traffic, I came across more traffice lights, and guess what.  They were right opposite the petrol station (which is on the other side of the road).  No matter I tbought I'll be able to scoot into there.  WRONG.  The road is very narrow due to roadwork barriers and some largescale working going on in the field opposite, but although there are 4 pumps, I couldn't get to any because there was one very large 4x4 car with a large trailer completely blocking the entrance and I couldn't queue to get in because I was in the middle of traffic lights!!!

Aah well.  I pressed on.  Now  somehow I missed the turning onto Long Lane because of a large caravan and tractot somehow ended up on the road to Dent!!!  I really have no idea how I did this as it is really quite obvious, but just one  of those days when everything was a bit awry.  So I turned round, went  around Sedbergh again.  

This meant I went past a car dealership that had one small petrol pump, so I pulled up to fill up there.  As I got out of the car a very elderly extremely well dressed man (he must have been in his 80s at least) filled up my car for me, after asking how much I wanted.  I then went ito the showroom to pay.  It was only 164.9 a litre - RESULT.

I eventually got to Sedbergh, after getting stuck yet again behind a campervan that couldn't go above 25 miles an hour.  All in all in took me an extra 30 minutes to get there!!  A good job I wasn't in a hurry or going anywhere in particular.

I was greeted very beautifully by a lady at the reception desk who asked if I knew my way around so I asked for a reminder and she gave me leaflet and then directed me to the tea rooms as I needed a coffee by now.

The cake selection was somewhat depleted today, but still a lovely looking choice I just opted for a freshly baked cheese scone and cappuccino.  DELICIOUS.

Then I proceed to walk around the 4 floors, take a few photos and chat to a couple of the stall holders that were there.  On the top floor there is a weaving room and there were 4 ladies there, one was weaving the others were in various stages of getting their very different looms ready.  I never knew just how much work went into preparing the loom before you got into the weaving part, but they were very happy to explain and show me what they were doing.

I managed to buy a couple  of small items as a birthday gift for a friend. What I loved about it is there were things to buy from just a couple of  pounds up to a few hundred if you so wanted.  Some amazing crafts and even a couple of photographers work, just smalls elections but still interesting to see.

So in the end I had a lovely couple of hours wandering around The Mill.  I will do one of my collages when I've had time to process the photos.  I am trying to reduce the time I spend on the  laptop due to the RSI  so only come on  here for about 3 hours a day now, if I can.  It's amazing how much time is spent in processing the photos, especially when you keep taking so many!!!!  Still I do love it.

That is all from me for today, do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.