Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Sid's Cafe

For any Last of the Summer Wine fans (I doubt you'll admit it) this is Sid's Cafe in the centre of Holmfirth. I intended to photograph Nora Batty's house but it was raining and really the house is not particularly photogenic. So Sid's cafe won the day. Beattie's next door still have their Christmas decorations up; I'm guessing they are staying up until next Christmas now!

I found myself in Holmfirth on the drive back from visiting the dog this morning. (I may have accidentally had a full English breakfast whilst I was there.) This time of year, on a Monday morning, it is just about bearable, but in the summer it heaves with tourists all going for a cuppa at The Wrinkled Stocking and I usually avoid it.

Whilst stuffing down my breakfast, I was listening to the music playing in the background of the cafe, and on came a Guy Mitchell song I used to sing along to with my parents when I was a young girl. I remembered all the words, despite not having heard it for 40+ years. Nostalgia truly can be painful.

Not an HDR, but tone-mapped. Brickwork looks good large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.