What Sunflowers Are For

Usually the sparrows bolt as soon as they sense someone getting closer, but this girl was too into her meal to care about me, at least until I made the mistake of taking a step. I never thought about this before, but sparrows spit out sunflower hulls the same way people do, arcing them out of their beaks onto the ground.

I took my morning stroll in the fog, began my second sock at knitting, and lounged through the afternoon with Emily St John Mandel's The Glass Hotel. I'm on a Mandel kick; I love the way she weaves through time and space, the way she blends the probable with the improbable to illustrate an alternate reality. And while I'm telling you what I love, if you have access to Apple TV and you have even a passing fondness for musicals, don't miss Schmigadoon. Yes, it is, and they do, and it's absolutely a delight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.