Statues

Every time I walk past the statue of Donald Dewar at the top of Buchanan St in Glasgow, I reflect upon how strange it is to be looking up at a face of someone to whom I remember speaking and with whom I remember debating.   

It is a very good likeness including in the pose and I suppose I must have been sensitised to such a thing when I noticed this a couple of hours later, walking through Kelvingrove Park.  

This memorial to men of the Highland Light Infantry who fell in the second Boer War was the earliest war memorial erected in the park, and is by the sculptor William Birnie Rhind.   I don't think I have ever looked at it closely before but it is a remarkable piece of work with the plinth re-creating an outcrop of rock on which sits a lookout , apparently very accurately portrayed with regard to uniform and certainly looking very alert. 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.