Fast Road

Fast Road
 
Been listening to ‘Joel Grimes Urban Landscape Masterclass’ an excellent set of lessons particularly on TiltShift Lens opportunities and uses, but he did stress that you don’t have to have one. 
 
One of the final modules was about combining images of a night scene to get light streaks. He was using a bridge in New York looking down on a Freeway and photographing at the blue hour. My version here was Swindon on the foot bridge over Thamesdown Drive just after 1 o’clock in the afternoon to get ‘speeding cars’ on a dull day :)
 
I was using my standard 24-105 zoom lens, at the wide end, on the Canon EOS R. Exposure was 1/6th sec (ish) at f/16 and 100 ISO. I shot something like 60 images in total, maybe an overkill but better too many than not enough. 
 
Back to the house in Lightroom I choose vehicles for each carriageway of the road that I thought would fit together. I loaded them into Photoshop as layers, about 8 per side. I processed each side separately for no other reason than it made it easier for me to think about. 
 
Not an award-wining photo but it kept me off the street for a couple of hours and I had a bit of fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.