Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

Saving the Ootheca

We have had several days and nights that have been unseasonably warm and I have been fearing that they might trigger the developmental response in the mantis egg cases. This has happened in the last two years. When the mantis nymphs hatch too soon they are wiped out by frosts and by starvation when their insect prey don’t emerge. Since there are only three egg cases that I know of I gathered them up and placed them in a small terrarium. This I put in a shady place on the veranda. I’ve been doing this with vulnerable ootheca for years, taking them outside when frosts are slight and midges are many. Last year the only nymphs that survived to adulthood were from ootheca I’d protected this way.

I have high hopes for the two on the left, but the other one looks like it has been invaded. This was left by the female that lived on the artichokes. I watched her every day for months, so I’m sad about that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.