After Yang

Started the day with morning rolls (Tescos seems to have linked up with a local baker and all of a sudden have started stocking really lovely rolls) and a bit of a chat with A about discussions she needs to be having but seemingly can’t start. She and N then headed off to Innerleithen to see a cottage for sale and I got stuck into sorting and trying to get my head round the new life. Spent a productive but low key couple of hours doing that, chatted to one of the neighbours about electric bikes (I’m sorely tempted!) and did some ironing. Chatted to Mt before he went to visit P (who is apparently fairly chirpy) and Mx and AR showed me how Tilly is getting on…poor wee thing she seems to be carried around constantly by AR but stands her ground against Higgs the dog who gets a bash on the nose from her if he comes too close!
A&N came home bearing delicious cakes from the Peebles chocolate and cake shop, very excited about the house which they loved. Now we have to work out how much to offer….this system of saying ‘offers over’ is such a lottery.
Good to have seen something they like though, and after a quick change we joined the throng of people on the filthy streets (what a time to have a bin collection strike!) to go to the closing gala of the film festival. We saw After Yang, a film by Kogonada which was beautiful….slow paced, gorgeous cinematography, gentle story that reminded me quite a lot of the book we all enjoyed Klara and the Sun. Would definitely recommend. I always forget how much I like a good film until I’m there in the cinema…must come more often! We walked round to the after party at Dynamic Earth and had fun with the free booze and tasty canapes, chatting to some nice people and enjoying the artist, the decorations and the location. I decided to go home when it was clear A&N were getting into the groove and heading for the dance floor and my bed was calling me. Better evening than we”d expected though…so altogether a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.