An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Esme...

The little firecracker visited today :-))

She arrived with her gran and papa as she'd stayed the night with them to let her mum and dad go out and celebrate her mum's birthday.  Her mum and Auntie Jen arrived not long after.

I had bought a birthday cake so once everyone was here (Esme's dad, our nephew Andrew, was at Knockhill Racing Circuit so couldn't come) we lit the candles and sang happy birthday to Nikki.  Esme helped blow the candles out.  

This girl has definitely been here before.  She has an answer for everything!  Her imagination is incredible.  It's a joy to listen to her chatting to herself as she plays.  She's been a bit sad this week as her wee friend and neighbour started school, as did another friend's son who Esme plays with regularly.  She is most miffed that she didn't start school too.  She's desperate to go!  Nikki is currently using this fact as a bargaining tool, frequently telling her that if she doesn't do as she's told, the school won't let her in next year!  So far it's a strategy that is working!  lol

A strategy that's not working is telling her that if she doesn't behave, the Birthday Fairy (it's her birthday next month) will cancel her party.  I heard Nikki threaten her with this when trying to get her to put her pyjamas on, only for Esme to retort, "that's ok. I'll organise my own party!" hahahahahaha! 

Nikki and Esme headed off not long after dinner, Ele, Kenny and Jen stayed on a little longer.  Jen started her first week of teaching last week and is loving it.  She has a P6 class and all seem lovely but knows that may change in the coming weeks as they test her to see how far they can go.  She's ready for them! :-)

The headed of slightly earlier that they would have as it's a school night!  lol

As they were leaving my phone pinged and it was two videos from my best friend Agnes showing her daughter Emily (our god daughter) in her final choice of wedding dress.  Oh my!  It is stunning and she looks so beautiful in it.  

I had been invited to go with them to the bridal appointment but I had an appointment that clashed that I couldn't change.  Plus I knew I would make a complete ass of myself by dissolving into tears at the sight of her in a wedding dress!  Best to spare us all that vision!  I was bad enough watching the video!

She was wearing her mum's veil and it is absolutely perfect in length and design for her dress.  It's as though it was made for it.  And the veil is pristine, a miracle since it's spent the last 35 years stuffed in a bag in Agnes' loft!  

Emily's wedding is 23rd August 2023.  A couple of days to go then we can begin the official countdown :-))))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.