The Way I See Things

By JDO

Impassive

It was too dark and blowy for macro this afternoon, but I was attempting it anyway, poking around in the hedge woundwort behind the garden bench for shieldbugs, but not finding any that looked especially good on camera. I stood up grumpily, wondering where to look next for a subject, and there right in front of me was this Common Darter, basking on the arm of the bench and gazing out across the garden.

I took a couple of steps back to prove that I wasn't a threat - though why, I don't know, because he'd arrived there after me and must have been perfectly well aware of my presence when he sat down - and then edged forward again very slowly, taking photos every couple of seconds. The Darter ignored me. In I crept, in what I have to tell you was a near-perfect demonstration of macro tai chi (no really - you'd have been impressed if you'd seen it), until the dragonfly completely filled the frame.

It was at this point, when I was feeling pretty pleased with myself, that he suddenly took off, frightening me half to death. Rats, I thought. Pushed it too far. But half a second later he flumped back down in front of me with a fly, and proceeded to eat it with great concentration, while still ignoring the camera I was pointing right in his face. This is worth viewing full-screen, if you have the time; the extra shows the last of the fly disappearing into his gently smiling jaws.

It's no surprise that one of this year's Common Darters should have taken to this bench - it's a species that likes to perch, wood is a naturally warm surface, and this arm rest provides a raised position with good all-round views. But today's experience caused me to remember the old female with whom I shared this bench last September, and I found the similarity between the two encounters both pleasing and poignant. Given that there are never more than a handful of Common Darters in this village, it's quite likely that the two are related, and not impossible that they're mother and son.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.