Almondblossom

By Almondblossom

The veg patch has been poor this year (dry soil, many trees next door) but here at last come the beans and tomatoes to the rescue. These French beans look so appealing on the vine and even though they turn green on cooking they are tender and delicious. The tomatoes are tasty but the skins are tough so the next batch will be skinned first (not alive, I promise).

I’ve had my most productive day work-wise in 3 years since my breast cancer diagnosis in 2019. It’s amazing to have enough energy to make two good batches of jam - greengage and vanilla, greengage and flaked almond then wipe down the entire kitchen, get the washing out and water the garden. Not at all sure how I’ll feel tomorrow but it’s been a fun, back-to-normal (for me) day, largely powered by the glorious morning prom of Indian music, on repeat. If you have time do have a listen here to Ustad Amjad Ali Khan and his two sons - all master sarod players:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/m001b5lf

I find drone instruments (sarod, tanpura, bagpipes, didgeridoo) calm my racing brain which releases energy for other things. Happy days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.