Geranium Stack

I was curious as to how my new lens performed using focus stacking; it also gave me the chance to experiment with the features of the focus stacking software I bought last year, FOCUS Projects. So I headed into the garden to see what I could find.

Unfortunately, the weather has not been kind, and there is very little left flowering or in an "interesting" state. I did find this geranium in a strawberry pot which seemed fit the bill, and I used the in-camera focus stacking feature to take 20 images which I took into FOCUS projects after some light processing in LR.

Even though it was in a sheltered spot, the flower moved during capture, but I discovered a feature allowing me to literally paint out the slight misalignment (something that is very hard to achieve in photoshop).  I also discovered a glow effect which further masked the misalignments and I rather liked in this instance. Finally, I was able to add a frame to complete the image, before returning to Lightroom for sharpening and export.   

All in all, a fun way to waste a few hours!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.