randomgirl

By randomgirl

Inveryess

Me, my eldest daughter (and my dog) went on a Scottish Independence march at the weekend. It was the first one held in Inverness since the pandemic. Numbers were lower than the pre-covid marches, but that was to be expected as there was a national train strike on the day and not everybody who used to march has felt like returning to it again yet. Still, it felt like a real success and that there is momentum building again.

Me and my daughter just really enjoyed ourselves. It was good dry, sunny weather and I loved the positive, communal feeling of the crowd as we walked along, sometimes chanting, and waving to folk watching and curious tourists taking photos! Some marchers had music speakers on wheels that they pulled along, so we were accompanied by a diverse soundtrack that included of course various Proclaimers songs. I often find when I'm on a march that I have the urge to break out in dance....so I have to try and restrain myself so I don't look a complete fool ;-)

My dog seemed very content plodding along and sniffing the many other marching dogs. The only negative of the day was when the drums and bagpipes started up in close proximity just as we neared the park for the rally at the end of the march. She was petrified by the loud drum noises and was relieved to get back in the car and go home once we'd listened to a few of the speakers.

A couple of the extras show the spot beside the River Ness which was where everyone gathered for the start of the march. The long concrete structure going out to the river is a controversial new piece of public art called 'The Gathering Place'. You can see my daughter walking down in front of it, flags in tow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.